Frequently Asked Questions

What do I need to do to get a library card?

If you live inside Twin Falls city limits or rent or own city property within city limits, you are eligible for a free Library card. All you need to do is bring in proof of current residence (see list #1 below) and photo ID (see list #2 below).

If you do not live within city limits and you don't own or rent city property, then the cost is $40.00 per year. This covers all FAMILY MEMBERS of your household. Senior citizens (60 and older) pay an annual fee of $35.00. Please bring in photo ID.

Children, ages 17 or under, may obtain a Library card if accompanied by a parent or legal guardian, who must sign acceptance of legal responsibility.

List #1: Acceptable patron address verification (MUST include your name!)

  1. Current Idaho driver's license
  2. Current Idaho official ID card
  3. Printed check blanks or deposit slip
  4. Utility bill dated within the last 30 days
  5. Mailed envelope dated within the last 30 days
  6. Current motor vehicle registration
  7. Paycheck stub, within the last pay period
  8. CSI student ID card showing current address and semester sticker
  9. CSI dormitory contract for current semester

List #2: Acceptable patron picture ID

  1. Current Idaho driver's license
  2. Current out-of-state driver's license
  3. Current passport
  4. Current military ID
  5. CSI student card with current semester sticker and picture
  6. Current permanent resident card (Green card)

What are the acceptable patron picture ID types?

Acceptable patron picture ID

  • Current Idaho driver's license
  • Current out-of-state driver's license
  • Current passport
  • Current military ID
  • CSI student card with current semester sticker and picture
  • Current permanent resident card (Green card)

What are the loan periods and limits?

The limit of total items checked out on a card is 50.

Item Loan Period Limit
All books 21 days 50
Books on CD 21 days 20
Books on Tape 21 days 20
Music CDs 21 days 20
DVDs 7 days 20
VHS 7 days 20
Magazines 7 days 20
Interlibrary Loans Various 3

All materials can be returned in two places: The drive-up drops at the back of the Library, and the 24-hour return boxes in the Lobby.

What are the overdue fines and fees?

All overdue materials are subject to a late fee, which is 20¢ per item, per day. The Library mails out COURTESY overdue notices to borrowers who are extremely late in returning materials. Notices are also mailed to patrons who have $10.00 or more in fines. Service is limited when fines are in excess of $5.00. The fine for a late Interlibrary Loan is $1.00 per item, per day.

Lost or badly damaged materials will be assessed at the replacement cost, plus a processing fee.

Replacement Library cards are $1.00 each.

Overdue Interlibrary Loans are $1.00 per item, per day.

How do I use the online catalog?

When using the Catalog, the "Quick Search" function is easiest: type in the title, author, and/or subject, and all the results will be items owned by the Twin Falls Public Library. When the list of items come up, click on the title of what you want; this will take you to another page where it will show you the location and status of an item. If the item is checked out, you may place a hold on it. Click the "Place Hold on First Available Copy" button, this type in your complete Library card number and your pin, which should be the last 4 digits of your phone number. If it doesn't work or has been changed, please call the Circulation Desk at (208) 733-2964 ext 100. You will be notified when the item comes in for you.

How can my child get a library card?

Children, ages 17 or under, may obtain a Library card if accompanied by a parent or legal guardian, who must sign acceptance of legal responsibility.

How do I request an Interlibrary Loan?

You can do an interlibrary loan in person at the Reference Desk or by calling the Library at 733-2964 ext. 200. Only THREE requests can be in process at a time (i.e., you have one checked out and another one requested, you may only request one more). Items may be renewed, but you must let us know THREE DAYS before the item is due.

The service is free, but a $5 fee is charged for items that are ordered but not picked up. Overdue fines are $1 per item, per day.

How do I put something on hold?

You can put a hold on an item in person at the Circulation Desk, Reference Desk, our Youth Services Desk. You can also call the library at 733-2964 and a librarian can put an item on hold your you. If you are using our Online Catalog and would like to place the hold yourself, click the "Place Hold on First Available Copy" button, then type in your complete Library card number and your pin, which should be the last 4 digits of your phone number. If it doesn't work or has been changed, please call the Circulation Desk at (208) 733-2964 ext 100. You will be notified when the item comes in for you.

What programs and events do you offer?

We offer a variety of programs for children, teens, and adults each month. Check our calendar at http://www.twinfallspubliclibrary.org/calendar.php for this month's schedule!

How much are overdue fines?

Overdue fines for Twin Falls Public Library items are $0.20 per item, per day. Overdue fines for interlibrary loan items are $1.00 per item, per day. The fine for a lost or damaged item is the cost of the item plus a processing fee.

How can I renew my items?

You can renew your items in person at the Circulation Desk or by calling the Library at 733-2964 ext. 100. You can also renew items online from home by using the following link: Online Catalog

How can I access my account from home?

You can access your account at home by clicking the following link (Online Catalog) or by clicking the "My account" tab. You will need to enter your 14-digit library card number and PIN, which should be the last 4 digits of your phone number. If it doesn't work or has been changed, please call the Circulation Desk at (208) 733-2964 ext 100.

How can I search for items from home?

You can search for items at home by going to our online catalog (Online Catalog). When using the Catalog, the "Quick Search" function is easiest: type in the title, author, and/or subject, and all the results will be items owned by the Twin Falls Public Library. When the list of items come up, click on the title of what you want; this will take you to another page where it will show you the location and status of an item.

What are the library's hours?

The Library's hours are:

  • Monday: 9am-9pm
  • Tuesday: 9am-9pm
  • Wednesday: 9am-9pm
  • Thursday: 9am-9pm
  • Friday: 9am-6pm
  • Saturday: 9am-6pm
  • Sunday: Closed

Who can use my library card?

You are the only person who can use your library card. Your card is to be used by you and you alone. Family or friends CANNOT use your card.

How much does it cost to get a library card?

If you live inside Twin Falls city limits or rent or own city property within city limits, you are eligible for a free Library card. All you need to do is bring in photo ID and proof of current residence. If you do not live within city limits and you don't own or rent city property, then the cost is $40.00 per year. This covers all FAMILY MEMBERS of your household. Senior citizens (60 and older) pay an annual fee of $35.00. Please bring in photo ID.

Can I use a computer at the library?

The Library has many computers and laptops for public use. You must have a library card or computer use only card to use the computer at the Library.

Do you offer WiFi?

Yes, the Library offers free wi-fi for public use.

What do I do if I've lost my library card?

Contact the Circulation Desk immediately at 733-2964 ext. 100. You can purchase a new card for $1.00 and your lost card will be deactivated.

How much does printing cost?

Printing in black and white costs $0.15 per page and printing in color costs $0.25 per page.

How much does it cost to make copies?

Black and white copies cost $0.15 per page and color copies cost $0.75 per page.

Do you have a fax machine for public use?

No, the Library does not have a fax machine for public use.

Does the library have tax forms?

No, the Library does not have tax forms. Tax forms can be found online at http://www.irs.gov

How do I get an obituary?

If you live in the Twin Falls area, you are welcome to come in and use our microfilm machines to locate obituaries (we can show you how). If you live outside of the Twin Falls area, you can request copies of obituaries or newspaper articles. The request MUST be in writing. You can mail it to: Reference Desk, Twin Falls Public Library, 201 4th Ave E, Twin Falls, ID 83301; or by email at: tfpl@twinfallspubliclibrary.org. Fees are $1.50 for the first page of each search and 25¢ for every page thereafter. Please include all possible information and your address. We will bill you after we've completed the search. Please allow 7-10 days for our volunteer to find the item.